Commonwealth Scholarships

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is a scholarship scheme that enables students from Commonwealth countries to study in other Commonwealth countries. The scheme has been helping students to develop their education since 1959 (over 21,000 scholarships have been awarded during this time). The fund is managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), on behalf of the UK government.

What this scholarship covers?

  • economy travel air fare
  • visa processing fee
  • tuition fee
  • maintenance and other allowances, during the study period. 


Candidates must :

  • be a Bangladeshi citizen, residing in Bangladesh
  • hold a first degree of upper second class Honours standard (or above); or a second class degree and a relevant post-graduate qualification
  • have taken the IELTS English language test.

Eligible Subject Areas

One-year taught master's course :

  • PhD
  • six-month fellowship
  • distance learning
  • split-site scholarship.

Selection Process


Firstly, the candidates are shortlisted based on their application and later they are further assessed through personal interviews. This phase of selection is conducted in Bangladesh, by the University Grants Commission (UGC).


Nominations for the prospective fellows are required to be sent to the Ministry of Education (MOE), from respective institutions and organisations. The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) London does the final selection on the basis of the nominations sent by the MOE.


Selection Criteria

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria :

  • academic merit 
  • quality of the proposal
  • likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.

For Support

Please contact:

University Grants Commission, Bangladesh

Agargaon, Dhaka-1207

Telephone: 88-02-8113242, 88-02-8124133